Brief Overview Of Politics In The USA

This article will give you a brief overview of the politics of the United States of America. Topics such as the different branches of the U.Sí government, itís six foundation and many more are taken into account. Take a few moments of your time to learn more about the Politics in the U.S.A.

The Written Constitution

U.S.A.ís government is based solely on a written on a single written constitution (simply called the Constitution). This constitution is so simple that it is considered as the shortest constitution in the world. It consists basically of a Preamble, various Articles and Amendments. It has a total of over 27 Amendments and 7 Articles. The written constitution created the federal government of the nation. It is basically document and its interpretation is changed every once in a while. The U.S.Aís amendment process can be difficult to amend, but still, U.S. citizens are able to make changes to it over time.

The Three Branches Of U.S.Aís Government

The written constitution created 3 separate and different government branches. Each of these branches has their own powers and influence. Also, the Constitution created certain checks and balances ensuring that no branch would have supremacy on the other branches. These three branches are enumerated as:

Legislative Branch = Consists of the Congress. The people in this branch are the ones responsible for making the federal laws of the nation. The Congress also has two different houses, that is the House of Representatives and the Senate.

Executive Branch = Consists solely of the President and the Bureaucracy. The president himself is the one who holds Executive power. The President of the U.S. is the one who enforces, administers and executes the laws.

Judicial Branch = Vested on the Supreme Court and other federal courts. It is in their power to interpret the law and to apply it through various cases that are brought to them.

The Six Foundation Principles

Here are the six basic principles of the Constitution:

Popular Sovereignty = The main point of Popular Sovereignty states that the government and its laws should be for the people. In other words, all power and responsibility of the government needs to be addressed to the welfare of the people. If not, then certain laws and regulation will be dissolved.

Limited Government = States that the power of the government is limited only to the welfare of the people. It also says that the government is given power by the people, and needs to follow the rules of the people.

Separation of Powers = Refers to the three branches of the government of the U.S., and that no branch must reign supreme over the others; each branch serving a different/specific purpose.

Checks and Balances = The checks and balances ensures that no branch becomes too powerful. Its purpose is to protect the people from others who hold powers over any of the three branches. For example; The President (Executive) will need to veto a legislation, while it is the Supreme Court (Judicial) who declares the acts and of the Congress and it is the Senate that approves the two.

Judicial Review = Pertains to the power that allows the Supreme Court (Judicial Branch) to decide if acts and laws are considered unconstitutional (interpretation of the Constitution)

Federalism = The idea that a central government doesnít have control over all powers in the U.S.A. It means that States in America have powers reserved only to them, and that they do not overlap (except special cases).